Photo by Glen Carrie on Unsplash

Hey, I just made it to twenty!!!

Daniel Anomfueme

--

Well, here I am, typing this while listening to my current favourite song, ‘Someone you loved’ by Lewis Capaldi. There’s a reason why I love songs a lot, it helps me feel my emotions. Sounds weird right but yeah, that’s how it works for me. Did I just clock 20? That’s a score if I’m not mistaken. Oh, I remember when I was little, around 10 years, during the days of MTN’s Who Want To Be A Millionaire TV show. They used to have this children’s day edition and I called to qualify for it.

“What is a score?”, That was the exact question the customer care personnel asked, to which I answered. Well, all that is a matter for another day I guess. So yeah, I made it to 20, Am I glad I did? Yes, Am where I want to be? No, Will, I get there someday? That’s the risk. Funny I decided to finish the series ‘Watchmen’ today. Sister Night told Dr Manhattan, that the fun thing about tomorrow is knowing that it is a risk, you can’t predict how it will play out, you just have to do your best. Yeah and that’s just what I have been doing and what I’ll continue to.

This 2020 is a funny one tho, the new decade we all had great expectations for it but here we are, fighting for the survival of humanity. Anyways I get to spend my birthday with my home family(oh, I got lots of families, the family of Student Christian Movement is one I hold very dear), which is a rare occasion nowadays. I’m grateful for today, I’m grateful to come across all of you in this short time of my life.

Why did I start writing all these? I honestly don’t know. I guess since I’m not fond of expressing my emotions, it just built up to this moment. In case you don’t know whose thought you are reading, it’s that of Daniel Anomfueme Chukwuebuka Evaristus, don’t call me Chukwuebuka though, I won’t answer you. I’m just a humble 300 level student of Computer Science, in the University of Nigeria Nsukka. A choice I am grateful I made, in as much as how I lament against the school. If I wasn’t here, I wouldn’t have met Philip and Ben and who knows how I would have turned out.

For those who already know me, you might wonder why I carry out duties assigned to me efficiently and all that. Well, I have this strong philosophy of trying my best to make this world a better place (okay, the tears are rolling now, and I told my sister I wouldn’t cry today. Maybe it’s the music doing it). Well, I believe if I do my part, just my little part, it will make a difference, no matter how small it seems. I’m happy I can help out in the little capacity I can.

So I’m going to dedicate this tab to a strong woman, one who without her, I wouldn’t be here. Her over goodness rubbed off me I guess. This is 11 years now and I’m still sure you are in a better place.

For the females in my life, you all are beautiful. For those who have noticed and to those who haven’t I’m the easiest and most difficult person to understand. Like how one has said,” You have this wall around you, you don’t let anyone in” Well yeah, there’s a reason, I guess I’m not just ready or so. Yeah, I’m quite annoying, I know but what’s the fun if things always went your way? Smiles, I love you all and the males too (before y’all come after my head).

Oh before I sign out, don’t know if I made any sense at all. I am a year older, so I’m closer to achieving my dreams so am I closer to the grave, yeah. Marriage, my greatest fear I think, they(mum specifically) won’t let me rest ni. I’ve got my life planned out abeg. Maybe that’s why the wall is there, maybe not, who knows? Even I ain’t sure.

I can’t thank you all enough for all the wishes tho, I now wish my birthdays to be every day but that’s not possible. Thanks for taking the time to share in my thoughts too, I appreciate. Don’t forget to leave a clap and drop a comment if you enjoyed it.

--

--

Daniel Anomfueme

Community Builder | Technical Project Manager | Building @Vita_DAO @DeSciAfrica @GDGEnugu | DC Fanboy | Gamer | Greenie